CAMICB’s CMCA Program Achieves NCCA Reaccreditation

NCCA_accredited program logo FINAL

By John Ganoe, CAE, CAMICB Executive Director

The Certified Manager of Community Associations (CMCA) examination developed, delivered and maintained by the Community Association Managers International Certification Board (CAMICB) has been awarded reaccreditation through theNational Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA). NCCA accreditation represents independent, third party validation of ongoing adherence to rigorous professional credentialing industry standards and compliance with best credentialing industry practices. It places the CMCA examination on par with the leading professional credentialing programs in the United States.

The examination was initially accredited by NCCA in 2010.  Accreditation is awarded in five year increments. This is the second reaccreditation cycle for the CMCA program and is valid through March 2025. The reaccreditation process ensures that the CMCA examination is complying with NCCA’s stringent requirements for accreditation, which are revised and updated on an ongoing basis, and is responsive to evolving best practices in credentialing. In doing so, the accreditation process examines various elements of the CMCA program, including:

  • Governance structure;
  • Testing practices and psychometric analysis;
  • Policies and procedures;
  • Ongoing maintenance;
  • Ethical practices;
  • Quality assurance; and
  • Financial sustainability.

CAMICB was established in 1995 to develop and administer the CMCA examination and marks its 25thanniversary year in 2020.  Over the past quarter century CAMICB has evolved as a strong, independent credentialing body focused on elevating the level of professionalism in community association management and providing homeowners living in common interest communities – more than 73.5 million in the United States – with a benchmark against which to measure professional achievement in community association management. In November 2019 CAMICB awarded the 20,000thCMCA credential.

The CMCA credential is earned by professional managers who have demonstrated competency in the defined body of knowledge required of a community association manager, agreed to adhere to a stringent code of professional standards, and made a commitment to ongoing continuing education.​​ NCCA accreditation of the CMCA examination – held now for well over a decade – is a great source of pride for the organization and underscores for our credential holders the strength, integrity, and value of the CMCA credential.

About NCCA

NCCA was created in 1987 by the Institute for Credentialing Excellence (ICE) to help ensure the health, welfare, and safety of the public through the accreditation of a variety of certification programs/organizations that assess professional competence. NCCA accredits over 300 of the leading credentialing examinations in the United States, including the CMCA examination.

Click here to view the NCCA Standards.

1 thought on “CAMICB’s CMCA Program Achieves NCCA Reaccreditation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s